Bithumb Bans Trade From Countries Without Anti-Money Laundering Measures

Bithumb, a South Korean cryptocurrency exchange operator, said Tuesday that it has put restrictions on crypto trading accounts held by users staying in regions that have not adopted anti-money laundering measures.

A total of 21 nations are currently on the watchlist for failing to implement anti-money laundering measures issued by the Financial Action Task Force, an intergovernmental body that sets international standards to prevent global money laundering and the financing of terrorism.

Iran and North Korea have been blacklisted while 19 nations, including Yemen, Syria, Pakistan, and Botswana, are on the gray list. Countries that support terror funding and money laundering are placed on the blacklist while nations on the gray list are considered safe havens for these activities, according to the task force.

Find out more